general view
When Taroko National Park was established on November 28, l986, it was of special significance for the environmental protection movement in Taiwan: it showed that both the public and the government agencies had realized that against the background of the nation's four decades of extraordinary economic success, serious damage was being done to its natural resources.
According to the National Park Act of the Republic of China (passed in l972), parks are established to protect the natural scenery, historic relics and wildlife; to conserve natural resources; and to facilitate scientific research and promote environmental education.
A deteriorating ecological system reminds people the importance of protecting natural resources.

National Parks in Taiwan
There are now eight national parks in Taiwan
Kenting National Park, the first to be established on January 1, 1984, includes a beautiful coast line, beach area and tropical forest.(land area 17,731 hectares and sea area 14,900 hectares)
Yushan National Park , the largest land area of the eight national parks, includes the central mountain area of Taiwan.(105,490 hectares)
Yangmingshan National Park, the smallest land area of the eight national parks, has a volcanic landform.(11,456 hectares)
Taroko National Park is famous for its marble gorge. Taroko National Park alone has an area of 92,000 hectares(approximately 227,336 acres). The park established on November 28, 1986.
Shei-Pa National Park is famous for the Formosan landlocked salmon (Oncorhychus masou formosanum).(76,850 hectares and established on July 1, 1992)
Kinmen National Park, the park land area is the smallest of the national parks in Taiwan and its main goal to preserve historical battle-fields and traditional villages.(3,780 hectares and established on October 18, 1995)
Taiwan’s seventh National Park-Dongsha Atoll Marine National Parkestablished on January 17, 2007 and is a complete coral reef with a unique marine ecology and high level of bio-diversity. It is a vital habitat for South China Sea and Taiwan's ocean resourceswith a total area of 353667.95 hectares. The park is only 174 hectares land area and the rest of areas are covered with sea.
Taiwan’s eighth National Park-Taijiang National Park is located in the southwest of Taiwan and has a planned area of 39,310 hectares, of which land will account for 4,905 hectares.(established on Dec. 28,2009)
The total area of these eight national parks is over 715,782 hectares (approximately. 1,767,982 acres), including 403,105.04 hectares (approximately. 995,669.45 acres) of ocean and 312,677 hectares (approx. 772,313 acres) of land. The land area of the seven national parks accounts for 8.64% of Taiwan's total land area.

  • Today Visits:525
  • Total Visits:183288736
  • View Date:2019/06/18
Taroko National Park Headquarters   TEL:886-3-8621100~6   FAX:886-3-8621497
Copyright(c) 2020 Taroko National Park. All Right Reserved.
Best viewed with 1024 x 768 resolution with Microsoft Internet Explorer 8